Founded in 1987, VISIT FLORIDA Racing has evolved from competing in club-racing events to becoming a mainstay in America’s most prestigious endurance racing series. Team Owner Troy Flis has steered the team since it began and continues to oversee the operation of the organization.

Headquartered just down the road from the World Center of Racing in Daytona Beach, Florida, VISIT FLORIDA Racing has competed in every season of the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship beginning with the former GRAND-AM Rolex Sports Car Series in 2000.

The team currently competes in the ultracompetitive Prototype class with a Gibson-powered Riley LMP2 machine after 13 years of campaigning a Daytona Prototype.

2012 marked a year of change for the team when Chevrolet introduced its new Corvette Daytona Prototype bodywork which VISIT FLORIDA Racing utilized. The season saw the team score three wins, three poles, four podiums, and seven top-five finishes to earn third in the Rolex Series championship.

In 2013, Ricky Taylor and Richard Westbrook campaigned the No. 90 VISIT FLORIDA Corvette DP with a best finish of third at Barber Motorsports Park. The squad took fifth in the prestigious Rolex 24 At Daytona. VISIT FLORIDA Racing showed its reliability and consistency by completing 97% of all the race laps in 2013.

2014 saw GRAND-AM and ALMS combine into a new merged IMSA series. It was a successful year for VISIT FLORIDA Racing and its full season drivers Michael Valiante and Richard Westbrook who won the Sahlen’s 6 Hours of the Glen. The team also brought home three additional podium results with a second place at Chevrolet’s home base of Detroit and then at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. The organization also scored a third place finish at the famous Indianapolis Motor Speedway on the way to taking third in the overall championship.

2015 marked VISIT FLORIDA Racing’s best year to date with full season drivers Michael Valiante and Richard Westbrook. The team never finished outside of the top-five and won two races – Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca and the Sahlen’s 6 Hours of the Glen. VISIT FLORIDA Racing brought home the team’s best-ever finish in the Rolex 24 At Daytona with a third place podium result. The team went on to score a total of six podiums in 2015 on the way to finishing second in the IMSA championship standings.

The 2016 IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship marked the final year for the Daytona Prototype. Full-season drivers Ryan Dalziel and Marc Goossens joined the team and kicked off the championship with VISIT FLORIDA Racing’s return to the Rolex 24 podium scoring a third place result alongside the team’s endurance driver Ryan Hunter-Reay. VISIT FLORIDA Racing claimed a runner-up finish at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca on the way to completing over 95% of race laps in 2016.

VISIT FLORIDA Racing embarks on a new chapter in 2017, which sees the team campaign a Riley-Gibson LMP2 machine. The team operates a state of the art race shop out of Daytona Beach, Florida and features an international driver line up. Marc Goossens (Belgium) is joined by 2016 PC class champion Renger van der Zande (Holland) who steps up to the Prototype ranks for the first time in 2017. Despite the new rules and new equipment, VISIT FLORIDA Racing fully expects to compete for overall race wins and championships.